You have *got* to be kidding me

Published on October 12 2007

Al Gore, UN Panel share Nobel for Peace - Yahoo News
OSLO, Norway - Former Vice President Al Gore and the U.N.s climate change panel won the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for spreading awareness of man-made climate change and laying the foundations for counteracting it. Gore, whose film on global warming, "An Inconvenient Truth," won an Academy Award earlier this year, had been widely tipped to win Fridays prize, which expanded the Norwegian committees interpretation of peacemaking and disarmament efforts that have traditionally been the awards foundations.
I feel a chorus of "Kumbaya" coming on. What the h*** is the Nobel Committee thinking? What flavor Kool-Aid was being served during their deliberations? We have things like this and this going on, and they award a *Peace Prize* to .....I'm just shaking my head here.... Does Gore fit into this group, even in the slightest? • 2006: Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank, the Bangladeshi bank he founded. • 2005: Mohamed ElBaradei, Egypt, and the International Atomic Energy Agency. • 2004: Wangari Maathai, Kenya. • 2003: Shirin Ebadi, Iran. • 2002: Jimmy Carter, United States. • 2001: U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan. • 2000: Kim Dae-jung, South Korea. • 1999: Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors Without Borders). • 1998: David Trimble and John Hume, Northern Ireland. • 1997: Jody Williams and the International Campaign to Ban Landmines, United States. • 1996: Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo and Jose Ramos-Horta, East Timor. • 1995: Joseph Rotblat, Britain, and the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs. • 1994: Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat; Yitzhak Rabin and Shimon Peres, Israel. • 1993: Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk, South Africa. • 1992: Rigoberta Menchu, Guatemala. • 1991: Aung San Suu Kyi, Myanmar (also known as Burma). • 1990: Mikhail Gorbachev, Soviet Union. • 1989: The Dalai Lama, Tibet. • 1988: The U.N. Peacekeeping Forces. • 1987: Oscar Arias Sanchez, Costa Rica. • 1986: Elie Wiesel, United States. • 1985: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, United States. • 1984: Desmond Mpilo Tutu, South Africa. • 1983: Lech Walesa, Poland. • 1982: Alva Myrdal, Sweden; Alfonso Garcia Robles, Mexico. • 1981: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, or UNHCR. • 1980: Adolfo Perez Esquivel, Argentina. • 1979: Mother Teresa, India. • 1978: Anwar Sadat, Egypt; Menachem Begin, Israel. • 1977: Amnesty International, Britain. • 1976: Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan, Northern Ireland. • 1975: Andrei Sakharov, Soviet Union. Bet Hillary is a little grumpy this morning, heheheheh.

Written by admin

Published on #Current Affairs

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
Well, once again this goes to show you that if you tell a lie often enough, eventually it becomes the truth. Gore's movie was so full of lie's that it should have been titled "An Inconvenient Lie". Either that or they should have removed it from the Academy Award category of "Documentary" and placed it in the "fictional Drama" or "Comedy" category. I am not really amazed at the gullibility of the Nobel Committee so, hence forth, the "Nobel Prize will forever be referred to as the Dumbbell Prize". Besides it's a more fitting title for the Jet fuel guzzling, electricity abusing, do as I say but not as I do Al Gore.